2022 Sonscreen
Film Festival

Sonscreen 2022 was our 20th annual festival, our first in-person event since 2019, and the premiere of Hope Media Europe’s Encounters series. Encounters series. Click here to read our recap article, or scroll down to view the list of honorees and official festival selections.
Best in Festival
Like Paper| Michaela Hounslow

Diversity in Film Award
Last Desire | Miryam Andianarijaona
Audience Choice Award
Spark| Ashton Weiss

Jury Selection Award
We Are People | Marcus Maynes

Pitch Competition Winners
First Place – Michaela Hounslow | Redcoat
Second Place – Melody Park | Radish Soup
Third Place – Stephan Lemieux | The Cold Quiet

Official Selections – Dramatic Short
Like Paper | Michaela Hounslow – Best Dramatic Short
Graves of Glory |
Ziarah Carrillo – Honorable Mention
Boppie |
Ethan Gueck
Fading |
Fabiola Ixcot
Five Breaking Calls |
Kevin Lembono
Homecoming |
Nick Cox
Last Desire |
Miryam Andianarijaona
Spark |
Ashton Weiss
The Red Kite |
Paula Macena
Unsuitable |
Brandon Cheddar

Official Selections – Documentary Short
As You Are | Tyler Whitsett – Best Documentary Short
I Hate Bananas |
Michael Moyer – Honorable Mention
History of Fantasy |
Dakota Futcher
Pure Grit |
Sebastian DeLorey
Steward of the Bison |
Camden Griggs
We Are People |
Marcus Maynes
Michael Rackley

Official Selections – Comedy Short
A Singular Unfortunate Event | Michael Moyer – Best Comedy Short
Candy Machine |
Trevor Claridge – Honorable Mention

Official Selections – Art/Experimental Short
Truth is Stranger | Michael Moyer – Best Art/Experimental Short
Deafened |
Samuel Guerra – Honorable Mention
Horrorstor |
Eliasab Sandoval
It’s Okay to be Happy |
Joshua Sutherland
Sanity |
Josue Hilario

Official Selections – High School Short
Tethered | Christian Lambert – Best High School Short
Help I’ve BEAN Robbed |
Columbia Adventist Academy Film Production Class – Honorable Mention
Anna |
Melaney Klinedinst
Lost in Plain Sight |
Chevon Petgrave and HIS Students