2023 Sonscreen
Film Festival


Sonscreen 2023 was held in Loma Linda, California for the second year in a row. We screened 42 student films at the festival, along with a number of professional films including the Sonscreen orginals: Those Were the Good Days and Vera. Click here to read a news article about the event, or scroll down to view the list of honorees and official festival selections.
Best in Festival
The Piano | Avery Kroll – Best Animated Short

Diversity in Film Award
The Right Move《那一步》| Ezekiel Canaan
Audience Choice Award
Minuteman | Jonathan Salvador and Nephtali Marin

Jury Selection Award
Echoes | Sierra Lewis

Pitch Competition Winners
First Place – Ashton Weiss | Lastlight
Second Place – Ziarah Carillo | Other Man
Third Place – Paula Macena | We Are the Unimportant

Official Selections – Dramatic Short
Redcoat | Michaela Hounslow – Best Dramatic Short
The Question |Trey Davis – Honorable Mention
Closure | Matheus Valente
Crossfire | Moses Kim
Demie | Samlyne Georges
Focus | Michael Rackley
Made With Love | Jayden Cushing
Manipulation | Samuel Guerra
Stay | Samlyne Georges
The Right Move《那一步》| Ezekiel Canaan
Unconditional | Atlas Snarr and Ysa Labaco

Official Selections – Documentary Short
The Modern Slave | Marcus Maynes – Best Documentary Short
Echoes | Sierra Lewis – Honorable Mention
Artistic Lens | Evelin Velinova
Both Sides of the Fence | Hannah Browning
Dari | Kateryna Poprakivna
Echoes | Sierra Lewis
Flag Farm USA | Tyler Lindo
The Power of a Passion by Samantha Hodges

Official Selections – Comedy Short
Taste of Love | Adam Adreveno – Best Comedy Short
Free Hats | Nick Cox – Honorable Mention
Avocado Desperado | Kamden Dockens
Finding Yourself |Sam Birky
Minuteman | Jonathan Salvador and Nephtali Marin
The Deal | Khaylee Sands
Wear the Shirt | Aja Knight

Official Selections – Art/Experimental Short
Nina’s Song | Samlyne Georges – Best Art/Experimental Short
Broken Circuits | Melaney Klinedinst – Honorable Mention
According to Hoyle | Briana Hanson
Aeschylus | Steven Crary
Birthday Cake | Ruslan Zavricico
Holo Taco | Krista VanHook
Sheol | Brad Clark
Space Disaster | Ian Olson
The Answer | William Frohne

Official Selections – Animated Short
The Piano | Avery Kroll – Best Animated Short
I Want to be a Tree of the Lord 《神様の樹になりたい》| Mugi Kinoshita – Honorable Mention
Breaking Point | Soleil Joseph
Craving | Susie Kim
Pocket | Rachel Ibarbia
The Unicorn| Jennifer Watkins

Official Selections – High School Short
Advance Preparation | Paradise Adventist Academy Visual Storytelling Class – Best High School Short
Foreigner with a Passport to Another Planet by Kailani Stroup – Honorable Mention